Ink in the Blood by Kim Smejkal - Waiting on Wednesday

Can you believe it is almost February? I feel like I was celebrating the new year just a week ago! For January's last Waiting on Wednesday, I am talking about Ink in the Blood by Kim Smejkal.

Stats:

Genre: Fantasy

Page Count: 488

Expected Publication: February 11

Publisher: HMH Teen


Summary:

Celia Sand and her best friend, Anya Burtoni, are inklings for the esteemed religion of Profeta. Using magic, they tattoo followers with beautiful images that represent the Divine’s will and guide the actions of the recipients. It’s considered a noble calling, but ten years into their servitude Celia and Anya know the truth: Profeta is built on lies, the tattooed orders strip away freedom, and the revered temple is actually a brutal, torturous prison.

Their opportunity to escape arrives with the Rabble Mob, a traveling theater troupe. Using their inkling abilities for performance instead of propaganda, Celia and Anya are content for the first time . . . until they realize who followed them. The Divine they never believed in is very real, very angry, and determined to use Celia, Anya, and the Rabble Mob’s now-infamous stage to spread her deceitful influence even further.

To protect their new family from the wrath of a malicious deity and the zealots who work in her name, Celia and Anya must unmask the biggest lie of all—Profeta itself.

Ink in the Blood is marketed as the perfect dark fantasy book for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake, which is right up my alley! I loved Three Dark Crowns (read my review here) and I am always in the mood for dark fantasy. I am especially eager to learn more about tattoo magic. How does it work to "guide the actions of the recipients?" And how does someone become an inkling? I can't wait for February 11!


Have you heard about this book before? I'd love to hear your thoughts!


You can add the book to your Goodread's TBR here!



©2020 by Lily's Latest Reads